Harteman Wildfowl | kvk 90846257 | ubn 6872294


Class Aves

Subclass Neornithes:

This is a list of the taxonomic orders in the subclass Neornithes, or modern birds. This list uses the traditional classification (the so-called Clements order), revised by the Sibley-Monroe classification. The subclass Neornithes has two extant superorders: Palaeognathae and Neognathae


Superorder Palaeognathae:

The name of the superorder is derived from paleognath, the ancient Greek for "old jaws" in reference to the skeletal anatomy of the palate, which is described as more primitive and reptilian than that in other birds. The Palaeognathae consists of two orders which comprise 49 existing species.

  1. Struthioniformes — ostriches, emus, kiwis, and allies
  2. Tinamiformes — tinamous
Superorder Neognathae:

The superorder Neognathae comprises 27 orders which have a total of nearly ten thousand species. The Neognathae have undergone adaptive radiation to produce the staggering diversity of form (especially of the bill and feet), function, and behaviour that are seen today.


  1. Anseriformes — waterfowl (ducks, geese, swans, screamers)
  2. Galliformes — fowl (pheasants, quail, partridge, turkey, cracids, megapodes, guinefowl etc.)
  1. Charadriiformes — gulls, button-quails, plovers and allies
  2. Gaviiformes — loons
  3. Podicipediformes — grebes
  4. Procellariiformes — albatrosses, petrels, and allies
  5. Sphenisciformes — penguins
  6. Pelecaniformes — pelicans and allies
  7. Phaethontiformes — tropicbirds
  8. Ciconiiformes — storks and allies
  9. Cathartiformes — New World vultures
  10. Phoenicopteriformes — flamingos
  11. Falconiformes — falcons, eagles, hawks and allies
  12. Gruiformes — cranes, rails, kagu, trumpeters, sunbittern and other relatives
  13. Pteroclidiformes — sandgrouse
  14. Columbiformes — doves and pigeons
  15. Psittaciformes — parrots and allies
  16. Cuculiformes —  cuckoos and turacos
  17. Opisthocomiformes — hoatzin
  18. Strigiformes — owls
  19. Caprimulgiformes — nightjars and allies
  20. Apodiformes — swifts and hummingbirds
  21. Coraciiformes — kingfishers and allies
  22. Piciformes — woodpeckers and allies
  23. Trogoniformes — trogons
  24. Coliiformes — mousebirds
  25. Passeriformes — passerines

The radically different Sibley-Monroe classification (Sibley-Ahlquist taxonomy), based on molecular data, found widespread adoption in a few aspects, as recent molecular, fossil, and anatomical evidence supported the Galloanserae.


Demoiselle crane display

Above: Demoiselle craneAnthropoides virgo


White-backed duck

Above: African white-backed duckThalassornis leuconotus



Powered by liveSite Get your free site!